Dedication to Shakespeare

March 31, 2022 | Tchaikovsky Concert Hall
Subscription No. 24: «Images. Dedicated to Evgeny Svetlanov»
Dedicated to William Shakespeare
Soloist – Pavel Milyukov, violin
Conductor – Arsenty Tkachenko
Dvořák. "Othello", concert overture, Op. 93
Glass. Concerto No. 1 for violin and orchestra 
R. Strauss. "Macbeth", symphonic poem, Op. 23
Prokofiev. Fragments from the ballet "Romeo and Juliet"


On March 31, the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia will give the final concert of the “Images” subscription series dedicated to Evgeny Svetlanov, the outstanding Russian conductor. Let us remind that Vladimir Spivakov's collective was inspired by Svetlanov's concert cycle of the same name, that had been presented by the Moscow Philharmonic Society in the 1992/1993 season. The dedication to Evgeny Svetlanov is not accidental for Vladimir Spivakov regards him as one of his lodestars: 'He is of those great artists who are erecting “miraculous monuments”, mentioned by Pushkin, to themselves during their lives.'

The final program of the “Images” series is devoted to William Shakespeare's works. All symphonic pieces in it were sparked by immortal tragedies of the English Bard, such as “Othello”, “Macbeth” and “Romeo and Juliet”. These masterworks will be played by the NPR under the baton of Arsenty Tkachenko.

In his “Othello” Overture, initially included into the “Nature, Love and Death” cycle, Dvořák shows the inside of love and death, that is jealousy and demise, whereas the music follows the intricacy of Shakespeare's drama. Richard Strauss' Poem is structured around the portrayals of the murderous couple – Macbeth and his spouse; this dark opus was described by conductor Hans von Bulow as “Macbeth's brew of witches' fare”. Arsenty Tkachenko has chosen from Prokofiev's ballet “Romeo and Juliet” the fragments referred to the heroine.

The night will also feature the much popular Concerto No.1 for violin and orchestra by American composer-minimalist Philip Glass, written in memory of his father. The solo part in the Concerto will be played by Pavel Milukov, a prize-winner of international contests, also of the Tchaikovsky Competition, and a member of the “Stars of the 21th Century” project of the Moscow Philharmonic Society.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *