Ignat Solzhenitsyn on the NPR’s Podium

November 17, 2022 | Tchaikovsky Concert Hall
Soloist – Alexander Romanovsky, piano
Conductor – Ignat Solzhenitsyn
Chopin. Concerto No. 1 for piano and orchestra in E minor, Op. 11
Schubert. Symphony No. 9 in C major («The Great»), D. 944


On November 17, Ignat Solzhenitsyn, the son of the eminent writer Alexander Solzhenitsyn and world-known pianist and conductor, professor of the Curtis Institute of Music and conductor-laureate of the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, will debut on the podium of the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia. He performs in his both emplois with top orchestras on both sides of the Atlantic – in the USA, Canada, European countries, and often works with Russian collectives. The maestro has also performed as a conductor-director of opera productions such as La clemenza di Tito by Mozart and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Tchaikovsky on the Chamber Stage of the Bolshoi, and Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk by Shostakovich at the Mariinsky Theater in Saint-Petersburg.

Ignat Solzhenitsyn first met with Vladimir Spivakov's orchestra on December 16, 2018, at the Svetlanov Hall of the Moscow Performing Arts Center in the concert dedicated to the 100th anniversary of A.I. Solzhenitsyn. He played the piano part in Beethoven's Second Concerto. Now Vladimir Spivakov has invited the musician to conduct the orchestra. The maestro will present to the audience his own renditions of works by Romanticism composers.

The program will start with the First Piano Concerto by Frederic Chopin which reflected the composer's adoration of operas by Bellini (soloist Alexander Romanovsky). The abundance of nuances, diversity of colors at the seeming economy of the means of expressiveness, boundless lyricism have contributed to the never-ending love of audiences. Pyotr Tchaikovsky underlined that Chopin required from a pianist 'softness and fineness of the touch, lilting, taste and graciousness in treating the details'. Part 2 will feature “The Great” Symphony in C major by Franz Schubert which is often compared with Beethoven's Ninth: both scores are similar in scale, power, are imbued with heroics, optimism, sing praises to joyfulness and claim the triumph of life. However, unlike Beethoven, Schubert does not go along the path from darkness to light, but asserts the overall victory of the latter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *