The Winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition Will Make His Debut with the NPR

February 2, 2024 | Svetlanov Hall of the Moscow Performing Arts Center
Subscription series «The NPR and Maestro Vladimir Spivakov. European Classic»
Soloist – Sergei Davydchenko, piano
Conductor – Vladimir Spivakov
Grieg. Two Elegiac Melodies, Op. 34
Sibelius. Valse triste, Op. 44
Grieg. Concerto for piano aтв orchestra in A minor, Op. 16
Schubert. Symphony No. 4 in C minor («Tragic»), D. 417


Vladimir Spivakov and the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia are going on with the series of concerts presenting masterpieces of European music. The program of this one comprises works by such classics as Norwegian Edvard Grieg, Finnish Jean Sibelius and Austrian Franz Schubert.

The maestro and the orchestra will be joined for the first time by virtuoso pianist Sergei Davydchenko, the winner of the 17th edition of the Tchaikovsky International Competition in 2023. Along with the First Prize and Gold Medal, the musician got the Yangtze River Company award “For outstanding performance” and the Alexander Toradze Prize. A Jury member Justus Frantz said that the young winner had displayed a great power and would surely become one of the best in the world. Another judge, pianist Vladimir Viardo, was more emotional: 'When he played, tears came to my eyes. I felt myself happy to hear him. He has a natural amalgam of wild energy, attention to details, full engrossment in both piano and forte, in slow and quick music. He is a genuine talent, combining all forces – physical and spiritual.'

Part I of the concert will feature works by Northern European romantics. There are Grieg's Two Elegiac Melodies (the author's instrumental arrangements of two of his 12 Melodies on the words of the “peasant poet” Aasmund Olavsson Vinje) and his Piano Concerto – a perfect example  of lyricism, a gem speaking the language of Norwegian folk music and breathing the air of the composer's homeland.

Then, as a kind of intermezzo, the NPR will play the famous Valse triste by Sibelius from the incidental music to Arvid Järnefelt's drama Kuolema (Death). The inspired miniature has become world-famous, continuing the tradition of poetizing the dance founded its roots in the orchestral music by Tchaikovsky, one of Sibelius's idols.

The concert will end with Schubert's Fourth Symphony Tragic in which the 19-year-old composer paid tribute to the Viennese classic style and all the tragedy of the 18th century, but also forecast the lyrical and dramatical symphonism of Romanticism.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *