Russian Classics: Tchaikovsky & Tchaikovsky

March 3, 2024 | Svetlanov Hall of the MIPAC
Subscription series «The NPR and Maestro Vladimir Spivakov. Russian Classic»
Soloist – Kirill Rogovoy, piano
Conductor – Ivan Nikiforchin
P. Tchaikovsky. Concerto No. 3 for piano and orchestra in E-flat major, Op. 75
B. Tchaikovsky. Fantasia on Russian Folk Themes
P. Tchaikovsky. Suite No. 3 for orchestra in G major, Op. 56


The National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia continues its Russian Classics series with a program, which features works by Pyotr and Boris Tchaikovsky. Young conductor Ivan Nikiforchin, who made his debut with the NPR a year ago, will direct the concert.

Ivan Nikiforchin is a former student and now a teacher of the Moscow Conservatory, a pupil and assistant of Valery Polyansky (the founder of the State Symphony Capella of Russia). He won the Second Prize and Silver Medal at the first edition of the S.V.Rachmaninoff International Competition of pianists, composers and conductors. He is a two-time winner of the Pure Sound International Award for outstanding interpretations of the 20th century Russian music, a holder of the Boris Tchaikovsky International Award. He is also the artistic director of the Schnittke College symphony orchestra and principal conductor of the Academy of Russian Music, which combines an orchestra and a choir.

The concert will start with the Third Piano Concerto by P.I. Tchaikovsky, the last score by the composer initially in one movement. For this work, Tchaikovsky used sketches for his never-written symphony in E-flat major. Kirill Rogovoy, a 16-year-old student of the Central Music School at the Moscow Conservatory, will play the piano part. He got the first award at the Vladimir Krainev Moscow International Competition in September 2023. It was at this contest that Kirill was acquainted with Ivan Nikiforchin under whose baton he played Prokofiev's Third Piano Concerto (with the NPR), later they took part in the concert of Tchaikovsky's Piano Concertos together.

The NPR and Ivan Nikiforchin will perform also the Fantasia on Russian Folk Themes by Boris Tchaikovsky, written in the best traditions of the 19th century Russian classics (Rimsky-Korsakov, Borodin, Mussorgsky) and the Orchestral Suite No. 3 by Pyotr Tchaikovsky, which is famous for an inspired symphonic painting and contrasting images: from light lyrical to most tragic ones. The renowned Russian critic and composer Boris Asafiev depicted the Suite as 'a splendid far-going music construction beautifully framed by a gorgeous garden of variations united in a magnificent polonaise'.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *